• Call for Nomination for TWAS Prizes 2016.

    Twas Prizes nomination procedure has been announced. The World Academy of Sciences, TWAS, hereby calls for nominations for the 2016 prizes for scientists from developing countries.

    Nature of TWAS Prizes:

    • Every year, The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) awards nine prizes of $15,000 USD each in the following fields: agricultural sciences, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering sciences, mathematics, medical sciences, physics and social sciences.
    • Each prize is accompanied by a medal.
    • Prizes are usually presented on a special occasion, often coinciding with the General Meeting of TWAS.


    1) Candidates for a TWAS Prize must be scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years immediately prior to their nomination.
    They must meet at least one of the following qualifications:

    • Scientific research achievement of outstanding significance for the development of scientific thought.
    • Outstanding contribution to the application of science and technology to sustainable development.

    2) Members of TWAS and candidates for TWAS membership are not eligible for TWAS Prizes.

    3) Self-nominations will not be considered.

    4) There is no age limit.

    TWAS Prizes Nomination Procedure:

    1) TWAS is inviting nominations from all its members as well as science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions in developing and developed countries.

    2) Nominations must be made on the nomination form and clearly state the contribution the candidate has made to the development of the particular field of science for which the prize would be awarded.
    To download nomination forms and view other details, visit >>http://twas.org/opportunity/twas-2016-prizes<<

    3) The nominee’s CV and her/his complete list of publications are also required.

    4) Nominations of women scientists and scientists from scientifically lagging countries are particularly encouraged.

    5) Nominations for the 2016 prizes and other inquiries must be submitted to the following address;

    TWAS Prizes
    ICTP Campus, Strada Costiera 11
    I-34151 Trieste, Italy
    Phone: +39 040 2240 387
    Fax: +39 040 2240 7387
    Email: prizes@twas.org

    Nominations arriving later will be considered in the following year.

    6) The re-nomination of a previously declined candidate shall be accepted only if it bears substantially new elements for judgment.

    Selection of Winners:

    Selection of the awardees is made on scientific merit and on the recommendations of the selection committees composed of TWAS members. The names of the winners will be announced on the first day of the TWAS 27th General Meeting.

    Nomination Deadline:

    Nomination ends 29 February 2016.

    Best of luck To You all…
    CampusPortalNG Team



    ©2024 CampusPortalNG.com No 1 Information Portal for Nigerian Students