• The Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU), Non-Academic Staff Union of Universities (NASU), and the National Association of Academic Technologists (NAAT) of all public higher institutions in Nigeria have decided to embark on an indefinite strike from Monday, September 11th, 2017.

    The decision was made on Wednesday in Abuja at a press conference addressed by the Joint Action Committee of the unions.

    The Chairman of Joint Action Committee, Samson Ugwoke, who is also the SSANU President, said on Wednesday that the unions took the decision to go on strike because of the failure of the government to implement the  Memorandum of Understanding it signed with them after a five-day warning strike in January 2017.


    He said that the unions were left with no better option but to proceed on the strike after a series of letters, written to the government on the pending issue of the implementation of the MOU, were ignored.

    He stressed that 95 per cent of the members of the union voted for the strike to await meaningful dialogue from the government.

    Meanwhile, ASUU said on Wednesday that its meeting with the FG delegation on Thursday (today) led by Ngige, would be to iron out issues, as it would not shift grounds on its positions.

    The ASUU President, Prof. Biodun Ogunyemi, when asked if the union would reconsider its demands, said the union “would simply approach the meeting with an open mind.”


    ©2020 CampusPortalNG.com No 1 Information Portal for Nigerian Students