• NUC Notice on Approved Universities for Postgraduate Programmes.

    The National Universities Commission (NUC) has observed with great concern that some Nigerian universities are running unapproved postgraduate programmes, leading to the award of Masters and PhD degrees.

    The Commission has also observed that some Parastatals and Institutes are awarding these same Postgraduate degrees, either on their own or through unapproved affiliations with Nigerian and foreign Universities. Such practices are not only unethical, but also antithetical to time-tested quality assurance best practices. The qualifications/ awards resulting therefrom are not recognized.

    national universities commision nuc logo

    The Commission hereby notifies the general public that only the following universities have approval to offer postgraduate programmes at the Masters’ and Ph.D levels in Nigeria, as of January 30, 2020:

    Federal Universities:

    1. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi
    2. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
    3. Bayero University, Kano
    4. Federal University of Technology, Akure
    5. Federal University of Technology, Minna
    6. Federal University of Technology, Owerri
    7. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike
    8. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola
    9. National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos.
    10. Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna
    11. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka
    12. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife
    13. University of Abuja, Gwagwalada
    14. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta
    15. University of Agriculture, Makurdi
    16. University of Benin, Benin City
    17. University of Calabar, Calabar
    18. University of Ibadan, Ibadan
    19. University of llorin, llorin
    20. University of Jos, Jos
    21. University of Lagos, Akoka
    22. University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri
    23. University of Nigeria, Nsukka
    24. University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt
    25. University of Uyo, Uyo
    26. Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto
    27. Federal University, Dutsin-ma, Katsina
    28. Federal University Oye Ekiti, Ekiti
    29. Alex Ekweme Federal University
    30. Air-Force Institute of Technology Kaduna.

    State Universities:

    1. Abia State University, Uturu
    2. Adamawa State University, Mubi
    3. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko 15. Lagos State University, Ojo.
    4. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
    5. Anambra State University, Uli
    6. Benue State University, Makurdi
    7. Cross River University of Technology, Calabar
    8. Delta State University, Abraka
    9. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
    10. Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti
    11. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
    12. Imo State University, Owerri
    13. Kogi State University, Anyigba
    14. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso
    16. Nasarawa State University, Keffi
    17. Niger-Delta University, Wilberforce Island
    18. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye
    19. Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Port Harcourt
    20. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina
    21. Gombe State University, Gombe
    22. Ibrahim Babangida University, Lapai
    23. Kano State University of Science and Technology, Wudil
    24. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero
    25. Kwara State University Malete
    26. Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu Ode
    27. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina
    28. Ibrahim Babangida University, Lapai
    29. Yobe State University, Damaturu
    30. Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Rumuolumeni.

    Private Universities:

    1. Achievers University, Owo
    2. Adeleke University, Ede
    3. African University of Science and Technology, Abuja
    4. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State
    5. Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo
    6. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin (MSc only)
    7. Al-qalam University, Kastina
    8. American University of Nigeria, Yola
    9. Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo
    10. Baze University, Abuja
    11. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
    12. Bells University of Technology, Ota
    13. Bingham University New-Karu
    14. Bowen University, Iwo
    15. Caleb University, Lagos
    16. Covenant University, Ota
    17. Crawford University, Igbessa
    18. Crescent University, Abeokuta
    19. Fountain University, Osogbo
    20. Godfrey Okoye University Ugwuomu-Nike, Enugu
    21. Igbinedion University, Okada
    22. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji, Osun State
    23. Landmark University, Omu-Aran
    24. Lead City University, Ibadan
    25. Madonna University, Okija
    26. Novena University, Ogume
    27. Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Abuja
    28. Oduduwa University Ipetumodu
    29. Pan-African University, Lekki
    30. Redeemer’s University, Mowe, Ogun State
    31. Salem University, Lokoja
    32. University of Mkar, Mkar (MSc only)
    33. Veritas University Abuja.

    Employers of labour, educational institutions and other stakeholders are to note that only certificates issued by these universities, for their approved programmes, are valid for employment, further studies and other purposes. When in doubt about the status of any programme or certificate, the National Universities Commission should be contacted through webmaster@nuc.edu.ng

    Further information can also be obtained from the Commission’s website: www.nuc.edu.ng


    ©2024 CampusPortalNG.com No 1 Information Portal for Nigerian Students