• The Federal Government has presented operational licences to four new private polytechnics and 34 Innovation Enterprise Institutions(IEIS) and Vocational Enterprise Institutions (VEIS).

    The new polytechnics are Nacabs Polytechnic, Akwanga, Nasarawa State; Uyo City Polytechnic, Akwa Ibom State; the Polytechnic Igbo-Owu, Kwara State and Balmor Polytechnic, Ibadan, Oyo State.

    Speaking at the licence presentation in Abuja, the Minister of Education, Malam Ibrahim Shekarau, said that the move was in tandem with the quest by the Federal Government to build skilled manpower for the country.

    He said the polytechnics, the IEIs and the VEIs were expected to focus on applied learning that would be relevant to the development needs of the country.

    Earlier, Dr Masa’udu Kazaure, the Executive Secretary of NBTE, said VEIs and IEIs were institutions inaugurated by the Federal Government to provide alternative route to higher education.

    He said IEIs and VEIs were private institutions that would offer vocational, technical, technology or professional education and training at post-basic and tertiary levels.

    According to him, the enterprise institutions will equip secondary school leavers and working adults with vocational skills and knowledge to meet the increasing demand for the country’s technical manpower. (NAN)

    Stay updated with all STUDENTS News plus other Nigeria Education news; Always visit www.CampusPortalNG.com.

    Your comments are appreciated, let us know your thoughts by dropping a comment below

    Don’t forget to share this news with your friends using the Share buttons below…


    ©2024 CampusPortalNG.com No 1 Information Portal for Nigerian Students