• 2014 Cowbell Maths Competition Winners Announced

    The annual Cowbell Mathematics Competition for secondary school students in Nigeria has been concluded for this year and winners have emerged.

    The finale was held at the Ibom Le Meridien Hotel and Resort, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State where Akintokun Adegboyega of Ota Total Academy, Ota in Ogun State was crowned the winner of the senior secondary category of the competition after scoring 96 per cent in the second stage examination.

    The Cowbell National Secondary School Mathematics Competition (NASSMAC), which started in 1998, has been an avenue for high school students to test their knowledge of mathematics all over the country.

    Incidentally, the 13-year-old 2014 senior category winner previously won the junior category of the competition two years ago when he was in JSSS 3 class.

    He won a star prize of N300,000, a laptop computer and a bag of branded products from the stables of Promasidor, makers of Cowbell milk and organisers of the programme while his teacher was rewarded with N50,000 and the school got five desktop computers and a printer.

    He was also awarded a scholarship to any university in the world by the National Mathematical Centre (NMC) if he decides to study Mathematics in the tertiary institution.

    Akin and his teacher will also get an all-expense paid trip to Ghana later in the year for holidays.

    In his reaction, Akintokun attributed his success to hard work and a deliberate training programme organised by his school.

    The competition’s second position was taken by 15-year old Fiyinfoluwa Abioye of the Nigerian Turkish International College, Abuja with 85 per cent while Babalola David Oluwasayo of Oritameta Baptist Model School, Ibadan, Oyo State came third with 83 per cent score.

    They got N250,000 and N200,000 as cash prizes respectively while their teachers got N30,000 and N20,000 each. Also the schools got three and two computers each.

    In the junior category, 13-year old Deborah Adesina of Graceland International School, Port Harcourt, Rivers State won with 81 per cent.

    Atolagbe Yusuf Olayinka of Nigerian Turkish International College, Isheri, Ogun State and Johnson Stella Doris of Reality High School, Ilesha, Osun State came second and third respectively.

    They were rewarded with between N150,000 and N250,000 and other gift prizes

    The remaining 14 contestants in the top 10 of both category got N15,000 as consolation prize. Those in the senior category also got mini laptops.

    Congratulations to all the winners and those that tried by registering and participating in the cowbell  mathematics competition. You all won!

    Stay updated with all STUDENT News plus other Nigeria Education news; Always Visit www.CampusPortalNG.com

    Your comments are appreciated, let us know your thoughts by dropping a comment below

    Don’t forget to share this news with your friends using the Share buttons below…


    ©2024 CampusPortalNG.com No 1 Information Portal for Nigerian Students